Mission Statement

Related Pages
Photo Albums
Rotary came to New England in 1909 when the Boston Club was formed. This Club sponsored the Providence Club, chartered in 1911, which is the oldest Club in the present configuration of our District. With the expansion of Rotary since 1911, our District has been part of the 1st, 2nd, and 31st Districts.

In 1938, our District, as currently defined, was separated from the Boston area, and became District 198. In 1949, it became District 290, and, finally, in 1957, it was identified as District 795, consisting of the entire state of Rhode Island and southeastern Massachusetts, including Cape Cod and the Islands. With the advent of computerization in 1991, the designation 795 was changed to 7950.

Two members of the District have served as Directors of Rotary International: Dr. Percy Hodgson, Pawtucket, RI in 1941-1942; and Frank Hollis Appleton, Harwich- Dennis, MA in 1964-1965. Percy Hodgson went on to serve as Rotary International President in 1949-1950.

District 7950 is part of Zone 31, which includes all of New England and most of New York state, and parts of Ontario and Quebec.
On July 1, 2009, Zone 31 changes from 31 to 32.